top of page

Practice Design Entry 3: -

Updated: May 16, 2020


Practice Design Entry 3, my further illustrative design process entry, denoting my further design process, however this entry is dedicated mostly to editing software and my process of digital manipulation;


My notes, beginning for this entry - start on the Right hand-side of my note book reference image, provided below;

My notes went as follows: -


- After I had rigorously produced 8x high quality drawings, (As shown in my blog entry 'Process entry 2)', My next step was digital manipulation.


- My first step was to export my designs, as high quality PSD files, on to the iCloud file sharing platform, again - but now with my illustrative designs - in order for my to have full access to my files from a separate digital device , being my computer - where i have full access to the Adobe software suite - for me to swiftly and easily import the same following files into ADOBE PHOTOSHOP.


- Once uploaded, and within the software; My first editing step, was to produce my 'card canvas size' , being A4 (at the time) for detail and pixel per inch reasons - simply being it is far easier to reduce the size of your work if intended - then stretch it to make it bigger. I then begin to super impose each of my designs separately onto to the page, while altering the brightness, levels, curves, clone stamp tool, liquify and also selective colour - using quick editing short cuts using my key board - in order to achieve the designed clean effect of my designs on the page, quickly and easily.


As shown in my reference images below;


Altering Curves and levels:

Selective colour:

Showing how I alter my background layer, to alter the pigment of the colour sample to correlate and improve the designs to a batter much or appealing, overall design;

The inclusion of further DIGITAL watercolour layers, in order to IMPROVE my designs, and help lift my illustrations off and away from the background layer and stand out off the page - mainly using opposite colour wheel, and delightful blends of coloured pigment; (main through procreate, and the insertion of another design layer, as shown below)

The liquify tool, in order to alter of distort any area of the designs i felt necessary;

Further notes, of more digital manipulation i decided to include within my designs, went as follows;


- For my next step i then decided to digitally construct a boarder around my design, in order to achieve a more finished graphical outcome - for a card product: -

- My reasoning for wanting to include a boarder on my designs, was because;


one) I felt it helps to centre the frame within my canvas , helping to deliberately guide your eye towards the centre of the frame.


and secondly) Due to my Easter Mini Brief, and the exploration of my artist influence MIKI ROSE; and her 'botanica' collection for the GBCC - ad the way Miki utilises a gold frame within her very 'traditional esq' design collection - I just simply love they way she has thought about her designs to such detail. including they way she has edited her illustrations to almost informally 'burst' through the boarders and spill onto the rest of the frame slightly - i just overall really love this design, and i cannot stress the influence she is having on me - for my own greetings card collection.



Images, collaged below show my - edited outcomes so far - without the inclusion of a boarder, unfinished but still worth documenting, as shown below;

Images below, show the editing sequence of how i altered the 'frame layer' in order to produce the boarder that can be seen on my final outcome designs;


It started off by, selecting the correlating layer, and using the selection tool - precisely highlighting areas on the frame i didn't want - and using the erase tool, editing the frame, in a step by step process;

Adding guides, for central frame guidance, and erasing all areas on this layer to match the other;

I then use, the clone stamp tool, in order to highlight 'SPLATTERS' alone the canvas and extend the design - to appear like they have almost been 'thrown' onto the canvas;

As shown below;


Below are all 8x of my digitally manipulated and now bordered - designs;











2 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page