top of page

Practice/Design Entry 2: -

Updated: May 16, 2020

This entry follows on from the previous design entry - almost as a written story - exploring the processes i utilise within my practice to achieve my final greetings card/designs and collections;


Notes, below denote;


'After I made the swift decision of selecting my theme for my collection, being groceries and fruit and vegetables - that have specific linking HUMOROUS puns - taken from my live research questionnaire answers; I then took the inactive (while utilising my background designs) to begin my illustrative processes'. As shown in my documented questionnaire response word file, below;


- When I began to draw, at first - i couldn't decide on 'what exactly to illustrate', SO I decided to think on my feet and decide to pull up my questionnaire answers.

- Some questionnaire responses that jumped put at me the most were;

'I love you from my head TO-MA-TOES' / 'I could never BAGUETTE your birthday' / 'you're one in a MELON' / 'job's a CARROT etc.. and so on.


So I then decided to utilise my favourite few, and begin illustration correlating designs: -


(OVERALL; It took me about 2 days total to complete each design separately. 2 days, times by 8 designs. was 16 days possibly just over of straight digital drawing over easter - in order to achieve the high level of detail and quality i strive to achieve within my illustrative practice).

- I started my illustrations off with my quote 'I love you from my head TO-MA-TOES'; and my process for this, went exactly as follows: -


1) I loaded up my background file, on to my iPad pro using iCloud share, and once fully downloaded, i then imported my files into the digital drawing app procreate.

2) I then; swiftly began researching online, for some secondary imagery - professional images with clean backgrounds, that i could use as inspiration, in detail, form and colour - for my illustrative process, almost similar to the technique of observational drawing. As shown from my grouped images below, which can be located originally on the website Pinterest;


- Once I imported all my secondary images over, and again into the drawing app Procreate, I then attached each one to separate files, moved them to the far right, top corner - and however the opacity - the that the detail becomes more evident in the images - for my to work from - and gain inspiration of what to include within my sketches;


More notes to follow below;

- I then, create a NEW layer, select the correct brush from my saved and purchased brushes file, located on the Procreate tab bar within the app. (In this care, I selected the 0.05 fine liner pen) To swiftly begin my illustrative practice;

- Outline

- Depth

- Sketch/Etch

- Shadow

- Detail


- My next step is; Colour. In order to insert my burst s of colour within my sketches, I instead select a soft watercolour brush from my file, select the correct colour from the palette selection, lower the opacity to 50%, and begin working into my illustration, layering and blending the pigment together - in order to achieve a level or detail and vibrancy from the colours that I am overall happy with.


(at this moment in time, once i am happy with my design; I then begin illustrating another; and so on - day after day - until i had a total about of x8 detailed illustrations - I could utilise further within my practice - to produce an overall greetings card collection).


(HOWEVER, it was only once i had produced EIGHT TOTAL and separate designs, that i realised (on accident, simply because i was enjoy my design practice so much) that I had exceeded my UK Greetings card design brief requirements, as the brief states they are only asking for 2x card designs, while also including other 'stationary' product designs) :-


Below, are a, collage of images denoting my design process, colouring, illustration through procreate as a methodology - visual examples of how I produce my current illustrative design;

Here; I have included an images 'slider/slideshow tab' ; of visual examples , starting with my blank background design - then with step by step images of my illustrative process, then colours, then framing , etc ... but of how i got from A to B with my MELON design, shown below;

Finally, below; are all 8x of my illustrated designs layered on top of my background samples;











5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page