top of page

Artist Influence: PIGMENT; designers & publishers of Innovative Greetings Cards: -

Updated: May 14, 2020

Week '12', Our Third Easter Mini brief, however this week is focusing solely on ARTISTS/DESIGNERS/ & AGENCIES;


Again, I've included the very clear brief we were given below, however I included the scan which has my scribbles on, in order to denote my thought processes through my very digital online blog - due to being a very analog and traditional artist;


I decided to carry out this brief in multiple separate blog posts, as Lydia has states; however I have many more than 4 Artist influences, but I will, however include a multitude of them within my Graphic Design Processes, blog category:

Primarily, starting with 'PIGMENT, Designers & Publishers of Innovative Greetings Cards'.


My immediate, very first influential card design collection - that i found on my primary, 'live' research trip to my local supermarket, Sainsbury's - to try and gauge and see what greetings cards are currently available out on the shelfs - and to discover what styles and designs are currently available on the market.


One very prominent design, which stood out to me - was the 'Tomato' pun card, visible below from the 'ETCHED' collection; (I even purchased this one, for reference and influence for my current design brief);


What I love the most about this collection below, is the traditional design, style and pressed technique that is consistent through-out all 6 designs; (The 'ETCHED' collection was hugely inspirational to me and my practice, and had a critical role in 'why' I took the direction of puns and detailed illustration); Which was largely driven by my fondness for this collection - while simultaneously knowing, that if i put my mind too it, I could easily produce a collection similar to this one; but better!


However, i have evaluated and analysed 'Pigment' as an influence, in far more detail below;

Pigment.(2020).PIGMENT productions.Retrieved14 May, 2020, from http://www.pigmentproductions.com/Collections.aspx?IND=0

Above, and below, is very evident that 'PIGMENT' publish a multitude of designs frequently from their platform - and overall are a fabulous design team with strong family values, whom are hugely inspirational to illustrators and designers like myself all year round.


Below, is a few more examples of the collections they have to offer;

(this one being, very similar to the previous PUN collection, however this design is dedicated solely to 'Things about dogs'), I just love the simplicity, use of space and traditional vibes - I just really resonate with this style of design;

A third example of the collections they have, below, is the 'GOODHANDS' collection;

A stunningly pastel themed design, featuring very contemporary gold illustrations and text - which are simply so trendy and ascetically pleasing - it would be hard for any audience to not appeal or like these cards. The simplicity and dynamic colours and use of space is just so satisfying - definitely a very cool and contemporary collection - i felt i needed to include within my blog;

My artistic influence and analytical notes; towards a multitude of collections available on their website, are in far more detail below: The notes read: -


Pigment.(2020).PIGMENT productions.Retrieved14 May, 2020, from http://www.pigmentproductions.com/OurStory.aspx

'This agency are in their 34th year of designing and distributing greetings cards'.


''Our story' is a very touching personal add on too the website, by giving us an insight into the world of pigment publishers, and to how they first began and what their main values are - as a design agency. However, they include many different insights into the personal side of the company, ie, 'our story', 'our studio', 'our main values' and 'our policies', having this information accessible - to people like me - is great; as, this gives you the option as a designer (if the option arrises to have the opportunity of work through this agency) , that you can access and read this public information, and establish whether this is a company you would like to be a part of'.


'Furthermore, This company is located in Yorkshire, Harrogate; and they have been actively converting their main office environment, to an amazing, warm, spacious and creative environment they are all really proud of'.


Below are about 8 total, analytical and personal reviews, based on a few of their designs, which can be located on the PIGMENT website;

'Best selling witty one-liners and puns galore! Full range of open, integrated and ages" - Etched.


'This collection by PIGMENT - ETCHED, is a fantastic collection, that was 100% the driven reason, as to why I am going in the direction of my practice, that I am currently going in. 'This is such a fabulous collection', 'They're humorous, punny but also, they're are TRADITIONAL and 'old fashioned', and i really resonate and lean towards that 'style' of design and technique'. (These are KEY ELEMENTS i aim to integrate within my own practices).


'More over, Their are a multitude of further designs they have on the website, but here are a few short analytical responses to the designs they have, I think, that are great!' : -


- 'Etched'; Being no.1 (Inspiration wise), due to the traditional 'etch' and sketchy illustrative style.


- 'Things about dogs'; A very similar design to the previous, traditional in design - this MUST - have been created by the same artist; however, rather than the theme being humour and 'puns', the theme for this design is solely about 'DOGS'.


- 'Age of arts and crafts'; A very victorian 'style' greetings card; The use of bold floral backdrops (similar to floral wallpapers), are very striking, when placed against BOLD pink - to - gold (TEN YEARS) font & numerals. A very beautiful design.


- 'Aura'; An aseptically pleasing design, with a very 'collage' , 'watercolour' - esque effect too them. Very contemporary. Very pleasing.


-'Goodhands'; 'LOVE THIS DESIGN' So basic, so clean, so aseptically pleasing. The use of a solid background pigment, against the gold text and illustrative designs is very striking. The juxtaposition and contemporary design, just simply works together harmoniously really really well! Great design!


- 'Notebook'; A beautifully aesthetic, pastel coloured, almost 'child like' and delicate design. A very heart-warming and pretty design.


- 'Porcelain'; Again similar to previous, 'collage' style design - appearing as a collection, of very 'multi-media- styled' designs, utilising watercolour, and illustrative pen marks - in comparison to digital-contemporary-collage produced digitally, through software editing. Very nice! Very 'female' based.


- 'Woosh!'; LOVE LOVE LOVE, this is such a lovely design! This collection is mostly numerical designs, from years 1 to 6 in age. However the design itself is very pleasing to the eye, Analogue in appearance due to the style and 'look' of media usage such as watercolours; but then appears to be digitally manipulated with text or design. Their is something really really lovely about these designs, I like them a lot!

Finally, I have briefly explained the elements within these collections that appealed to me this most, such as; style, design, media, technique etc. and briefly explain professional outcomes such as these, are what I'm striving to create myself within my own. practice.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page