top of page

Client & Industry Project (Final task for Concepts - Term 1)

Updated: Jan 24, 2020

For our last task we were given the opportunity to personalise our projects and were given the freedom to explore an avenue of your own choosing - but it HAD to be almost in the form of a 'Client Industry Brief'.


For this task, the first idea that sprung to mind was - who would I LOVE to work with, in industry - within my own volition? Immediately the idea of The National Trust and English Heritage came to mind! Two fantastic organisation charities, to which i have been an annual access member for a number of years now.


But how could i make this brief my own? Notes below: -

(Notes covering this task, beginning on the lower left right side of the book titled ' Final Project').

(Extended hand-written notes above, reflecting on my ideas and one to one conversations and feedback with my tutor Sara).


I Then sat down, and began expanding on my ideas, below -

(Expansion on my previous notes both Left and Right, above).


Exploring Ideas, grabbing materials and collected files from heritage visits - I was bursting with ideas ready to cover this task I was excited to make this my own!

Ive narrowed down my initial ideas, and Heritages sites traveled, all refined to one site - Bolsover Castle, Sheffield.

Primarily my idea for this task was, one Sunday afternoon - myself and my partner were out on a typical Sunday adventure, visiting heritage sites, historic castles etc, and we came across Skipton Castle. Upon entry and ticket sales, you are given a lager than A4 sheet titles 'come & Explore'. I was immediately immersed due to the - basic - but illustrative sheet containing 40 small graphical illustrations of areas located all over site. An Architectural treasure hunt! Thats IT!


That was legitimately it! That was exactly what i was going to do - in my own way, of course - a digital file, containing - at least - 10 to 12 illustrations of areas located around English Heritages site of Bolsover Castle , Sheffield. My very own Architectural treasure hunt sheet.

I began my Digital task on Adobe Photoshop, planning out my file with a sub-heading, a Title and the industry logo. I then felt a basic white sheet at my level of education was too bleak for this task in particular, so i then did a flowing waved background, using the very same red colour, that can be found in the Heritage logo below.


I then began sketching, scanning and manipulating my images onto the pages in a 'grid' style form.

And that was it, I numbered each one. - I WAS going to insert small amount of text under each image, to give them a little context using the 'English Heritage, Bolsover Castle information booklet' that i had purchased on site, however, this being a Graphic Design task, i decided to keep my final piece simple and clean, with solely illustrative and digital images on the file - with as little text as possible to 'let my drawings take centerstage' if you will, and try refrain from giving too much information when unnecessary? But maybe some information would be beneficial? hmm.


The image above, if the final piece i produced from this task, I am quite happy with my outcome - it think they all work well together. This is the first time i have seen my illustrations from a site put together on one sheet - I feel that my style in different ways and medias (time dependant) really work well together and I am very happy with the simplistic but digital outcome!


2 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page