top of page

Zoom group meeting with Lydia & Anneke, Initial ideas + Feedback;

Updated: Nov 4, 2020

This zoom meeting was full of analytical , actual and important details dates and information.


Notes below, denote some of the notes I gained from the meeting;

Exploring details such as;


Discussing credits, How much we need in total to submit. And all daline dates etc. And platforms/referencing etc that we need to be aware of before moving onto more key information.

Key information Noted down, were; The answers to some key FMP Questions;


Weightings: -

I seemed to have solely noted down the weighting I thought would be best for me, that being a 70% - 30% ratio.


We then explored - Research aims and Methodologies, Being given a number of questions and giving our first initial answers; The first question and answer being;


Q; What is my research topic / theme or question?

A; Greetings stationery & The juxtaposition of analog methodologies through digital media, and the exploration of print and greetings stationary in a commercial context.


Q; What secondary research do i need to do?

A; Primarily live investigation/ of online research into colour theory and categories for a broad collection.


Q; What research do I need to do?

A; Live field research within shops/ questionnaires/ unbiased responses etc. Are there any gaps in the market?


Q; What methods might I use?

A; Multimedia/ Analog/ Expressive/ Digital.

Q; What might my outcome be?

A; A film personalized broad - collection / website / packaging / gift tags / etc...


( GO BACK TO THE ART OF MAPPING )


- Returning to my project proposal -


Q; How might my Ideas have changed?

A; I have completely drifted away from architectural design in order to explore new routes and new pathways into my practice.


Q; What key themes have evolved since starting my MA?

A; That I have a very unique drawing style, and I mustn't limit my practice, to just one subject area; As their is quite a lot I can actually achieve. (Not just traditional either).


Q; Research into new ways of learning?

A; Carrying on with LinkedIN learning tutorials into graphic design and DIGITAL softwares; Learning TEXT is key this term.


Q; Development and creative methodologies?

A; Containing my traditional / expressive / creative and painterly side; While contrasting it against heavily digital and software based processes. "Multimedia".


Q; Research into your subject?

A; Themes, concepts, ideas, contexts, commercial, creative industry.


Email after the zoom; Thanking those who attended but also attaching a further task to the email to complete;

Attaching a group tutorial zoom, for us all to go through our task answers together; For imperative feedback at this point;


I decided to begin mind mapping again; Denoting my ideas and refining my ideas, to uncover to exactly I want to study this term;


One very prominent theme I've uncovered within my refinement was that of; The appeal to dedicating my work this term towards 'Organic botanical forms/ Greenery' and so on. A drive. A longing for this. (Which is good. as this is something I feel passionate about).


Completing my personal development plan; Major Project 2020;


Answering some critical questions in refined detail: -

Shown below;


The notes from my group tutorial with Lydia, are shown below.


My journal notes were as follows;

"The natural world + well being" or "A gender neutral approach to designing card stationery /Giftware".


When and Who buys cards / Gift wrap etc?


Research: -

Perhaps think about illustration design and which products you would describe as gender neutral. e.g. some beverages that have interesting natural motifs but have a wide appeal. See what you can find. Consider why they succeed in being genre neutral?


You may want to produce a 'visual resource library' + Find some relevant academic/ industry, research.


Second Task of the session: -

Terminology: - (Reading a bulk of text, and refining the main pinnacle terminology from it);


Mine being;

"Packaged sentiments; The social meaning of greetings cards by Alexandra Jaffe"


- Commodity: -


- Social criticisms

- Impersonal

- Ambiguous

- Authenticated

- Exploit

- Appropriated

- Intrinsically

- Sociolinguistics

- Opposing


Task 2: -

Analyse (Abstract, into and conclusion) and in 2 sentences 'Sum' up the text: -


This text analyses the social uses and meaning og greetings cards; between opposing social categories of 'gift' vs 'commodity'.

A great session. But we then had a group crit to attend. Which I enjoy because it gives me a lot of feedback and analytical notes that I can utilize at a later date.


My feedback, in bullet points. Were as follows:

-Digital collections inspired by:

- COVID-19

- More in touch with their home environments

- Gardens / Green theme etc.

- 20. - 30 demographic

- home cooking/ herbal gardens

- Live action research / questionnaire

- need correlation links

- what have people been up to?

- MINTEL REPORTS or PASSPORT (For access use SUMMON)

- statistics/ fractal analytics in support of my argument.


Lydia's email, with feedback attached and further critical information for the course from all of our group crits. Shown below;

My analytical feedback, in order to help aid me on my with FMP Ideas, from Lydia & critical group notes; were as follows; "FEEDBACK FOR INDIANNA": -

"The natural world + Well being"

Or

"A non-gendered approach to designing card-stationery-giftware?"

Gender neutral cards/gift/packaging


When and who buys cards/ gift wrap etc?


Research:

Perhaps think about illustration design and which products you would describe as gender neutral - e.g. some beverages that have interesting neutral motifs but have a wide appeal. See what you can find... consider why they succeed in being gender neutral?


Reading:

Find some "Academic or industry" Research that is current and relevant to either of your ideas, eg. LINK . or search for some importance of nature in wellbeing (as seen during C-19). There will be alot to review im sure - try and tease out what's relevant for you. LINK.


Experimentation:

You may want to develop a Visual Resource Library


Ultimately you want to develop a Business Report?

Have a look as this:

Rise Design and Sine: LINK


And this is interesting... LINK

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page