top of page

Postage stamp - Oxfam discovery, Harrogate;

Updated: Nov 5, 2020

It was my mums birthday - and as a treat, my dad booked for the our family to go and have Afternoon ta together at Bettys in Harrogate. Which was so lovely; But after we had eaten etc. We took a trip into Harrogate's town, to explore the shops and window displays, photo ops etc.


And while out on our trip, I found an Oxfam, dedicated solely to literature and books. I was an absolute Eden to someone like me, I could have happily spent a few hours in there. finding a few fabulous novels to purchase. But as I was quickly sifting through I few of the Isles, I came across these stamps.


They vere Vintage, Used and saved as a collection; and as they go - due to the origination of the Stamps they had my name all over them. India being written at the top. I decided to purchase them; As i felt these would go lovely, as a file PNG to accompany my digital collection. Another element to drag and drops - They may not be botanical theme, however the colour pallet is great - they are a vintage collection - and they is something very unique and beautiful about them. & After some thought - the connotational value to my project is; From my MANIFESTO; To Combine, customise and more importantly SHARE. "Why not send a relative of close friend a personalized card to raise their spirits, or even just to let them know you're thinking about them during these troubling times. #seeyouontheotherside.


Regarding share, you cannot send a relative or close friend a card - presently with Lockdown enforced, therefore you must post one. So their as connotational values to this theme, Therefore combining these lovely steps is something I decided to do.


The first step being, scanning them in at 300dpi, as JPEG files. As shown below;

My editing steps were then as follows.


To trace, all 61 stamps, CMD + V, and CMD + C, onto a clean canvas. Producing a PSD file, to make quick and easy use, on selecting a layer, CMD, drag a seperate layer on to any other editing file you my have.


This took a long while to do, but as for the file itself - and fitting them all on an A4 sheet, I was very happy with this outcome.


4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page