top of page

Idea exploration utilising my Survey responses/sketching/ and a Journal Entry, Easter break: -

Updated: May 13, 2020

Below, are some experimental creative task and idea explorations - utilising my 'live action Survey research'


A short explanation of what was written below, is as follows: -

I decided to do a short 'live action' survey, in order to gather some primary research, and from the feedback i gained, I decided to utilise some of the puns in order to carry out some creative and illustrative challenges.


The challenge i decided to carry out, was; 'for each pun - use 20 seconds - to do a quick illustration of the first thing that comes into my head - to match and correlate with the chosen pun'.


'It's good to keep challenging yourself artistically' - which is true! it keeps you on your toes as an active illustrator.


The outcomes I was able to produce, were the 3 documented below: -

'I managed to sketch out 3 quick illustrations, however this isn't 100% the style i was going for, - back to the drawing board'


Initially, i believe what i was trying to convey was, they I like them - i think they're cute! They're great little illustrations for sample challenges - however when it comes to my design practice - i aim to achieved outcomes of far, far more detail and quality.


Moreover,

On a second entry I wrote, at the very beginning of the easter holidays - I analysed my outcomes in slightly more detail, but I also include some advice i gained from a separate Thursday workshop I had, with Christian my former BA tutor - which correlates greatly with my current practice.


Which went as follows: -

'Easter break: Entry 1: -

From my last notebook entry - I was challenging myself to do 20 minute sketches using my live questionnaire answers.

- I achieved 3 (as I wasn't enjoying what i was doing) however, I wanted to analyse them and see if their are any themes or any elements too them that i appeal too.'


'1. "LEAF me alone";

2. "Let's TACO about it";

3. "I'm not PEELING too well";


- Their almost was a running theme of 'food', which honestly is a theme I was gravitating towards from my initial primary research; from visiting my local supermarkets to analyse greetings cards which I had access too at that current time, while also, when I was analysing my questionnaire responses -


One, simple reason for gravitating towards the theme of 'groceries', was simply because - 'who doesn't like food?' (not to sound silly) but, it is something everybody can relate too.


Furthermore, in relation to my design practice, I have also been strongly gravitating towards the humorous puns too, the silly and fun ones. while also having, 'FUN and COLOURFUL' as my main initial themes'.


- 'After I had attempted to do a few more sketches; It is time to start thinking about where to go from here'


'What is my direction?

"Fun, colourful & funny"

- Being a greetings card brief, I have already settled on 'Puns', humour/fun - But, for a theme -

- Theme: I'm gravitating strongly towards a relatable theme - that 'all' can enjoy, and my immediate reaction to this as a design theme, was 'food'.

- Furthermore, 'colourful' ; My primary reaction to this is to begin doing some experimental background sampling - experimenting with colours/pigments/medias etc.


- MY CURRENT IDEA FOR THIS IS MAINLY DRIVEN - by my notes that I gained from Christian workshop, just before we broke up due to COVID-19, and the influential things that he said;


Which were; "Stick to the detail, and re-identify why I originally loved and drew elaborate detailed illustration, and integrate this within your new brief".


- SUCH GOOD ADVICE -


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page